Review: Stitch Fix

I’m always up to share my opinion on new things, take it or leave it but hopefully I can help out others. My newest venture has been with Stitch Fix. If you haven’t heard of it, Stitch Fix is a subscription box for fashion.  For  $20, a personal stylist will send you 5 clothing/accessory items and you have 3 days to decide what you want to keep and what you don’t want, then you send back what you don’t want and pay for what you do.

stitchfix

I first learned about Stitch Fix from my good friend Shelly. She told me about girls wearing cute dresses to work in her office and everytime she asked where they got it, they said Stitch Fix. She logged on and checked it out and told me all about it. I am no stranger to subscription boxes, that are the hottest thing right now. I’ve had Birchbox and my mom gets Ipsy. I know plenty of people who use Barkbox, FabFit….the list goes on and on. Why is that? Well if you haven’t noticed, malls are going by the wayside. People aren’t shopping in physical stores anymore, online shopping has taken over. But the one complaint about online shopping is that you can’t try things out before you pull the trigger and buy it. Many subscription services send trial sized products for a cheap monthly price, and if you like the product then you will by the full version, sometimes you’ll even get a discount. And who doesn’t love getting something in the mail?

I was skeptical about some random person picking out clothes for me, but I checked out the website. The first thing that really impressed me was the questionnaire, it was so detailed. It asked about sizing, how you like your clothes to fit, what styles you like, what you don’t and parts of your body you want to highlight, etc. They even provided pictures of different outfits and asked you to rate them. They really dug deep. The most impressive part to me was that you are given the opportunity to share your Twitter, Linked In, and Pinterest accounts with your stylist. Pinterest is the most beneficial, you are urged to create a Stitch Fix board and your stylist will look at things you pin to get ideas for your fix!

Pinning items for my fix quickly became an obsession. I pinned during my free time and constantly searched for more pins. Stitch Fix will pin their clothes as well, you can pin them and request specific items. It is a perfect way to feel involved in the process and to help your stylist get to know you. You also have the opportunity to write a note to your stylist requesting items for an upcoming event or more information about what you’d like to see in your fix.

I filled out my questionnaire, pinned relentlessly and wrote my stylist a note asking for a dress to wear at an upcoming wedding. Waiting was the hardest part but my anticipation was off the charts. Below I’ve included pictures of the items I was sent (excuse my messy closet) and my thoughts on them.

necklace

Garden Stone Bib Necklace ($28)

I’m my note I received, my stylist referred to the necklace as a ‘bauble’ necklace, so before I even opened it I was skeptical. I imagined the huge bauble necklaces that were really popular about 2 years ago. But when I opened this necklace I was pleasantly surprised. I like wearing statement necklaces to dress up my casual work attire, and this would be perfect. The necklace is for sure a statement piece but it isn’t obnoxiously large. And I love the pop of color. It would be perfect to wear with a neutral outfit to brighten it up. I was also happy with the price, I felt like it was fair and not too expensive for what it was.

shirtf shityb

Abberley Cut Out Detail Knit Top ($48)

When I first glanced at this shirt, it didn’t wow me. It looked like a run of the mill stripped top that I could get anywhere. I love stripes but I thought that might be headed back to Stitch Fix immediately. Then I tried it on. This top is so comfortable, form-fitting and figure flattering. I love the cut out detail in the back (I can still wear a bra!) and it looked great on. Another great thing about Stitch Fix is that you can try things on with items that you already own (something that you can’t do in a store). Even though I loved the top, I was still unsure because I wasn’t looking for casual clothes, I have enough of those and I have no problem buying them. But I tried this shirt on with a blazer over it and fell in love. I could wear it to work and out. The top really is versatile. The price was ehh for me, I mean it isn’t too high but I normally don’t pay that for what it is.

sweater

Pixley Louie Open Drape Cardigan ($78)

This is an item that I had actually pinned on my Pinterest account. I was so excited when it arrived. I love the print and the collar is a great detail that is unique to this sweater. I already fell in love with it before it showed up so it was no surprise that I loved it on. It is nice and heavyweight, which is important for me in sweaters like this because it is too bulky to wear a coat over it. Because it is so heavyweight, the price is reasonable but getting a bit steep for my budget.dress

Papermoon Etsie Dress ($78)

Ok, the one thing that I asked for in my note to my stylist was a dress. I have several dress-worthy occasions coming up: Keeneland Fall Meet, my three year anniversary with my boyfriend, and a friend’s wedding. I love the color of this dress, I love blue and wear it a lot to bring out my eyes. I also love the cut, this dress is a fit and flare which is perfect for my body type. The material was comfortable, the dress was loose on me. It had a zipper but I could pull it on and off over my head. As cute as the dress was, it didn’t wow me. In dresses I look for originality and detail, I don’t want to wear anything too close to what someone else could be wearing to an event. There was just nothing that set this dress apart for me. The price would be reasonable for the dress but I wouldn’t pay that for a dress that came off as plain to me.

jeans

Dayna Skinny Jeans ($88)

When I received my box, I read my stylist note before opening my items. When I read that I was sent a pair of jeans, I immediately thought that they would be sent back. It is not that I am a snob about jeans, actually it’s the opposite. I don’t pay more than $40 for jeans. I’ve been wearing American Eagle for year and they work just fine. Of course, I tried them on and I fell in love with them. These jeans are so comfortable and very slimming. They are a little long, but I face that a lot with my height. I think the price for these are very unreasonable, but I can’t say for certain that I am sending them back because I do love them so much.

All in all, I am very happy with my experience with Stitch Fix. All of the items fit well into my style, I wasn’t sent anything that was way off base. And they say with each fix, the picks get better. I was sent items that if I saw them in a store, I’d probably walk right by them but when I tried them on, I loved them. The quality of the items are great and the proof is in the fit. The downside to Stitch Fix is the prices can be steep, at least for me. I think the important thing to remember is that this isn’t a money saving or sale service. You do get to apply your $20 styling fee to your purchase and if you buy all 5 items, you will get a 25% discount. But even with that, if I bought all the items it would be $220. I think the best bet is to go into it with a budget in mind, and not to go over it when purchasing. I know I will be keeping the top and cardigan, the dress and necklace will be going back (I like them but the dress didn’t wow me and the necklace wasn’t something I had to have), and the jury is still out on the jeans. I love them but they are so expensive.

If you are interested in trying Stitch Fix, you can use my referral link: https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/6028354 to sign up, I will get a small credit towards my purchases if you use it but you can always go to the website to sign up without it. And yes I will be doing this again!

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

