Review: Stitch Fix (Fix 2)

I am back with another Stitch Fix review (finally)! Just for a recap, Stitch Fix is a subscription box in which a “personal” stylist picks out five pieces of clothing or accessories and sends them to your home, you get to try them on and decide what you like and what you don’t, you pay for what you like and send back what you don’t like. The styling fee per box is $20, but if you keep any items then that $20 goes as a credit to your purchase. If you buy all the items in your box, you get 25% off. Your stylist decides what to send you based on a style profile that you fill out, notes that you leave them, as well as by following your Pinterest board (if you give them one). This is only my second experience with Stitch Fix, you can read about my first one here: https://laurenamagee.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/review-stitch-fix/

All right, now let’s get into what I received in this box. For this month I requested some fall essentials to add to my wardrobe. I love plaid, vests, boots, scarves, leggings-fall is my style season. I also asked for some tops that I could wear to the office. I pinned a lot of plaid tops and cardigans, many from other Stitch Fix reviewers. I also changed my settings in my style profile so they would not send me denim anymore. If you read my first review, you’ll see that I was sent a pair of Kut from the Kloth jeans. I fell in love with them and ended up keeping them, but only because my mom paid for them and kept them as a Christmas present, they were $88. That was too much for me for jeans so I decided to solve the problem by asking for no more jeans to be sent. Ok, I know, on with it!

IMG_6484

41 Hawthorn Colibri Solid Tab Sleeve Blouse-$48

Ok, this is the first thing I opened in my box this month. Overall, a nice shirt that aligns with my style. I asked specifically for a button down (this buttons down about halfway) and I have pinned a lot of similar shirts to this. The purple color was nice and the pocket detail was cute as well. Even though I like button down shirts, I have size D boobs, so I face the dreaded ‘gapping’ issue. I referenced that in my note, and unfortunately I had a gap issue with this shirt. Other than the gap, the shirt was a bit over-sized which unfortunately doesn’t work well for my body type. Over-sized shirts make me look bigger than I actually am. And finally, the shirt just didn’t ‘wow’ me. I can get this shirt at Target or the Limited or Express, I am picky on my items and this just didn’t knock my socks off. So this went back.

IMG_6485

Market & Spruce Cordelia Striped Boat Neck Sweater-$58

I was very excited when I opened this sweater. This is exactly the sort of sweater that I was asking for in my note. It was nice quality and very comfy. I tried it on and it just didn’t flatter me, which was a total bummer. Even typing this, I’m wondering if I made a mistake sending it back. The high collar and horizontal stripes just widened me, which isn’t a great thing. But this is one of the good things about Stitch Fix. If I would’ve seen this in the store and bought it without trying it on and then not worn it. But I was able to try it on and make the decision that it didn’t work for me. A great sweater, just not the best for my body type. Darn you, hips!

IMG_6483

Olive & Oak Kirov Plaid Oversized Jacket-$108

Well readers, I asked for plaid. I received plaid. When I saw plaid peeking out of my box I was ecstatic. When I lifted this from the box I was confused. I tried it on and I laughed. This is the one complete miss I’ve received from Stitch Fix. Yes, I like plaid. But this is tartan. I need a bag pipe and a kilt. That is problem number one. The second problem is while I know the whole 3/4 sleeve jacket trend is in, it is a no go for me. I am up for fashion but a jacket should have function and if it doesn’t cover my arms, it doesn’t function. Needless to say, this was not a keeper.

IMG_6488

41 Hawthorn McQue Solid Lace Sleeve Blouse- $48

Now this is what I am talking about! It may be difficult to see but the sleeves are lace. I love the material and the gun metal gray color. This is a perfect top to wear to work and to wear out. It will look great under a blazer or cardigan and on it’s own. Luckily, unlike the sweater, this fit great! Very flattering. I kept this and I am looking forward to wearing it!

IMG_6486

Margaret M Emer Print High Waisted Cropped Pant-$98

Ok. I saved these for last because it includes a bit of rant so apologies ahead of time. These pants are gorgeous, my poor photo taking skills don’t show the pattern well but they are navy with a geometric pattern. They fit great and slim my figure. They are slim through the leg, which is exactly what I am looking for (so I can wear boots to work). These pants were perfect. Then I saw that these pants were $98. Now, some people pay this and more for pants, but I don’t. I would say well, they didn’t know that, it’s not their fault-but they do know. They know because: 1. In my pricing preferences I said my pants price range was $50-$70. 2. After receiving $88 jeans I specifically said that they were out of my price range for pants and not to send any more in that range. So to be honest it kind of makes me angry that I’m getting ignored on my pricing preferences. I loved these pants, I wanted to keep them but I sent them back out of pure principal (and my wallet status).

So I only kept one item from my box this month, which is great on my bank account but I was a little bummed that I didn’t like more of these pieces. I want to give you guys an honest Stitch Fix review, I’ve read a lot of reviews that seem like Stitch Fix paid them (they are all super positive all the time) and I’ve seen ones that rip Stitch Fix. I want to be honest and say what I like and what I didn’t, I don’t want to persuade you one way or the other I just want to share my experience.

I think Stitch Fix is a great way to get unique pieces sent to you that you can’t get somewhere else,  I also like the personalized notes and feel that you are getting one-on-one attention. Using Pinterest for inspiration is a genius idea and I think it works well.

Stitch Fix is NOT a sale or bargain priced service. These items are going to be expensive, nothing I’ve received has ever been under what I expected, they’ve always been at the price or over the price I expected. I liked that they ask you in your style profile what price range you’d like for each type of item, but so far they have ignored these preferences in my fixes. I checked my settings, and I’ve received items over my range on both boxes so far. I also asked to not be sent pants over $70 and I was sent pants over $70 on my next box.

I am getting another box, but I am sticking to my ‘guns’ on the pricing issue. I reviewed my box low and got an apology email. So I am up for another shot, I do like the items and I love the excitement of receiving them. I will keep you posted!

If you want to try Stitch Fix, here is my referral code: https://laurenamagee.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/review-stitch-fix/   (You don’t have to use it, I get a $25 credit if you do).

Until next time.

-Lauren

2 thoughts on “Review: Stitch Fix (Fix 2)

  1. Hi Lauren, Just a little insiders notes. There are seldom pants of ANY kind in stock at SF for under $78. Sometimes there are corduroys for the $45 range but its not always a possibility for a stylist to send you something in your requested range. And since you must receive 5 items it makes it difficult for a stylist. Maybe request to only receive tops.

    Like

    1. Kendra,

      Thank you for the notes. I have taken all pants off my requests in my style profile because I realize that I just personally don’t pay that much for pants. I spend more on tops and dresses, and that is just me. Some people are the other way around. My work pants come from Target and The Limited, and my jeans come from American Eagle and I’m fine with that. I went back and checked my choices on price range in my style profile and I chose $60-$80 for denim and pants. I received a pair of jeans for $88 in my first fix and then a pair of pants for $98 in my second one. Both of these were out of the price range, and after the first fix, I commented that the jeans were out of my range and then was sent pants that were $10 more expensive. It just makes me feel like I’m being ignored. I do realize they must send 5 items, and that may be hard, and that is why I’ve taken pants off my requests. I just think they should up the price range options if they don’t have anything in the price range I request. I still love Stitch Fix though, my next fix is coming this week, I’ll be sure to share my thoughts. Thanks for comment! ~Lauren

      Like

Leave a Reply

