Vacation šŸ˜Ž

  
Well it has been one full week since I returned from the beautiful beaches of Cancun, Mexico. And I still haven’t recovered and fully returned to my real life mindset. 

As I sit here typing this, I have cough syrup to my right, Mucinex to my left, and a nasty cold. The body does get revenge when push it too far, that is for sure. Was it worth it? I think so.

My family had not been on vacation in 8 years. We used to go on family vacations annually but with college and changing work schedules, our vacations dropped off entirely. When we saw the opportunity to take a vacation we jumped for it. Man did we need it! My mother loves the ocean and she had been away from it for far too long. My father has traveled and worked overtime for years without taking any days off. I survived the transition from college to the real world (with plenty of bumps and bruises along the way). This was way overdue. I also got to bring along my boyfriend, Anthony-who also needed a break from his micromanaging colleague.

On December 17, we left CVG en route to Charlotte then on to Cancun at 5:30 AM. I cannot tell you how hard it is to get my ‘always late’ mother out the door and to calm my paranoid boyfriend that we wouldn’t miss our flight. I didn’t breathe until take off. Oh and for a 4 person trip, 5 bags were checked! Can you guess who checked an extra bag? And no it was not me!

This was the first time my parents had left the country since passports were required, and Anthony’s first time leaving the US period. I was relieved when we landed in Mexico without a hitch. 

It wasn’t long before I came to the realization that vacation is no different from real life, there are ups and downs. The hotel wasn’t the best, the food wasn’t that great. I was worried. But just as in life, you regroup and make the best out of it. We were on a beach for 5 days with unlimited food and alcohol, we should enjoy it.

Anthony and I visited Tulum, which are Mayan ruins. It was beautiful and so interesting to learn about the history of the Mayan culture. 

  
After Tulum, we went to Xel-Ha. Xel-Ha was an amazing water park that was all natural. There was a cove of fresh water where it meets the Caribbean Sea which created this beautiful hidden oasis. We floated on a lazy river for an hour and a half and still didn’t reach the end. There was snorkeling, cliff jumping, zip lines, everything you could imagine. And of course all you could eat and drink. Xel-ha was amazing, I’d recommend it to anyone who travels to Cancun. 

  
We also swam with dolphins. This is my all-time favorite activity at my favorite place in Mexico: Isle Muejures or Women’s Island. There we were able to swim with dolphins in the Ocean and interact with them. I met 3 amazing dolphins and I couldn’t have had a better time hanging out with them.

  
It was great to get away from work, stress, social media and everything. But I was reminded that even vacation isn’t gaurenteed to be perfect. It rained, we didn’t get to do everything we wanted, I got sick-but we made the most of it and had a great break. It was amazing to see my parents be able to relax for once. And to lay on the beach without any concerns other than my next drink order. I’m glad I can go into 2016 refreshed, as soon as I get over this cold!

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

