Journey of a Non-Runner

Like many people, being more healthy and losing weight is definetly a goal for the new year. But also like many people, that has been a goal of mine for many years and I’ve never quite reached it. So this year I decided to do something different, I decided to set a specific goal for myself. I also decided to make the goal more about health and less about losing weight. My goal was to run a few 5k races this year.

Now I am not a runner. I am the furthest thing from a runner. Out of all the popular exercise activities, the last thing you would ever find me doing is running. So why on earth am I doing this? Well last year I took up walking on my breaks and lunch hour at work, and I got pretty good at it (as good as one could be at walking). And I have always liked the idea of running for a cause. I participated in the Cincinnati Teal Power Walk/Run for Ovarian Cancer in honor of my friend Jen’s mother who passed away. I walked during that event but I really felt like I could run and for the first time in my life, I wanted to.

And let’s be honest, I’d do anything for a t-shirt and most of these races come with a t-shirt. Yesterday I took the first step and signed up for my first 5k. On April 29, I will be running in the Rolex Twilight 5k conventionally located at my place of work, the beautiful Kentucky Horse Park.

race14791-logo.buWwwk

Now I have downloaded a ‘Couch to 5k’ app and I am cautiously optimistic. I am going to chronicle my journey from a non-runner to a 5k runner. Don’t expect much, I can almost guarantee that I will never be a marathon or half-marathon runner. But with some hard work, I think I can have my own small slice of the running world. Wish me luck!

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

