Journey of a Non-Runner: Week 1

Good news, I have successfully completed week one of the Couch to 5k training plan. Even better news, I survived to tell you all about it. Week one consisted of three workouts, each one included 30 seconds of running, then 60 seconds of walking repeating for a total of 20 minutes plus a 5 minute warm-up and 5 minute cool down. I was very lucky to embark on this journey with a run buddy, my friend Shelly. The first day was a little taxing, but I never felt like I couldn’t complete it-which was an amazing feeling. Though it was a small feat, it was great to feel like I could achieve this. The second day, I was ready for it to be significantly harder because my legs were quite sore. But it actually felt easier, which showed me that my strength and stamina would improve. I was also lucky to have nice 50 degree weather for my first two workouts. The last workout day was significantly colder and that proved to be a challenge. I found it really hard to breathe and I wore out much quicker. But I soldiered on and it felt even sweeter to finish that workout. My optimism is at a high right now, I really believe that I can do this and I’m excited to keep going. Next week my workout will include 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes (and a 5 minute warm-up and cool down). I know I’m in the “honeymoon” stage and that it will get tougher, but I’m ready to do this!

IMG_7528.JPG
Shelly and I declaring victory after finishing week one!

 

2 thoughts on “Journey of a Non-Runner: Week 1

Leave a Reply

