Journey of a Non-Runner: Week 4

I have survived another week of Couch 2 5k training! I honestly can’t believe that I have come this far. My running buddy returned this week, thank God! It was getting tough running alone. I have found that running with someone else really does motivate me, if I’m on my own I am more likely to rationalize quitting or not running at all. But running with Shelly keeps me going, I want to motivate her and keep her going and she motivates me to keep going.

The weather is still all over the map, as soon as I think spring is here to stay, we get snow. And that is exactly what happened this week, on Thursday it snowed all morning and afternoon. But by Friday, most of it had melted. I really wish the weather would make up it’s mind. I almost forgot, it rained on Tuesday so Shelly and I ran laps in the covered portion of Rolex Stadium, now if that isn’t dedication, I don’t know what is. And then Friday I forgot my running pants so I ran in jeans. I don’t recommend it, but hey it got the job done.

Week 4 consisted of a 5 minute warm-up walk, jog for 3 minutes, walk for 90 seconds, jog for 5 minutes, walk for 2 1/2 minutes and repeat.The recovery intervals are getting shorter, and the jogging is getting longer and mentally that is a challenge. The 5 minute runs really do test me in the last minute, I really have to push myself to get through it. I am surprised that I haven’t repeated a week yet or walked through some of my jogging intervals, and I’m very proud of my drive to keep going. I hope I can continue this streak as the time keeps getting longer.

Just in time for my training partner to return, I got a new job. I am very excited about it but it means that we won’t be running together at work anymore. Running at the Kentucky Horse Park during our lunch break was very convenient and the park itself is gorgeous, not to mention the horses we meet along the way (including champion Quarter Horse Be a Bono, pictured above). But the upside is that I am officially moving to Lexington so we can train after work and on weekends. I’ve come this far, and I am not going to quit now.

I also wanted to take a minute and thank everyone who leaves such helpful and encouraging comments on these blogs. It really inspires me to keep going on this journey.

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

