A Brand New Kentuckian

I have been pretty absent from blogging these past few weeks, and there are a few reasons for that. First and foremost, I am in mourning that The Bachelor season has ended. But seriously, live changes have been quite abundant lately and it has kept me very busy. It is funny how you can wait on change for so long and when it finally comes, everything happens so quickly. Just a few weeks ago I had a different job and I lived in a different state. I can now say that I am officially a Lexingtonian!

The first thing that set me on this whirlwind was a job offer from Keeneland. For the non-equine enthusiasts, Keeneland is a racetrack in Lexington, Kentucky and that is an oversimplified statement of what Keeneland is. It is a pillar of the city, a draw for tourism, and a historical treasure. I’m sure that description doesn’t begin to cover the impact of this racetrack. To me, Keeneland is the Holy Grail of jobs, not only do I love to attend the race meet at Keeneland I also admire the culture they so expertly uphold every day. If every track investing in branding and marketing the way Keeneland does, horse racing would not be a dying sport. Ok, enough gushing. But seriously, getting this job has been a dream come true.

Of course attending a track and working for one are two very different things. I prepared myself to be disappointing when I saw what really happened behind the scenes. Well obviously I just started, but I am even more impressed then I already was. Every employee that I have met at Keeneland loves that track and loves what they do. They work tirelessly to make Keeneland the iconic location it has become and they don’t rest on their laurels, they work everyday to make it better and better. I am honored to be able to join this team of dedicated and passionate individuals.

Along with the job came the apartment. After two years, I am finally saying goodbye to the hour and a half drive from Cincinnati to Lexington. I found an apartment and moved in this past weekend with the help of my amazing parents, boyfriend, his parents, and my great friends Jackie and Ethan. My bedroom furniture was delivered today and it is finally starting to feel like home. I have cooked myself dinner twice and not burnt anything, so I guess I’m an adult now? Well I also broke (then fixed) my Kuerig and the cable. One step at a time right.

Life throws curve balls all the time and I’m never quite sure if I am on the right track, but for the first time I feel like I am right where I am supposed to be doing what I am supposed to be doing. It is such a great feeling and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

~Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

