Book Review: The Throwback Special


I’m back with two books to review today, after my month-long reading hiatus, I have returned with a vengeance to plow throw my “to-read” pile! We will start with my review of The Throwback Special by Chris Bachelder.

I decided to skip over a few other books in my “to-read” pile to this one because after Never Let Me Go, I needed something lighter. I first heard about this book from a Book Riot podcast. I can’t remember which one it was, I listen to the Get Booked podcast which takes questions for specific book recommendations and the All the Books podcast which discusses newly released books. They are both wonderful and keep my “to-read” list fully stocked. So I encourage you to check them out!

Anyway, the premise of this book really intrigued me: 22 grown men who get together every year to recreate an infamous football play. I am a football fan, I even play fantasy football. And besides that, I liked that this book has a strong male group focus. If there is one thing that I don’t understand its men and how they think and communicate with one another so I actually enjoyed the “sausage fest”. I believe there are only two female characters and they are minor, the hotel receptionist and a girl who works for a company with a conference in the same hotel. 

While this book is very much about the bond between these guys, it is also about the everyday lives of the middle-class American man. You get to see the weekend through many of the different characters perspectives and their thoughts about their families, children, job etc. Because it shifts so much, you never fully get to know one character. This usually would bother me, but in this novel it worked for me and it became about them all as a group.

This book is also hilarious. Like laugh out loud funny, and I think humor is a really hard thing to convey well on a page. I was thoroughly entertained and finished this book very quickly because of it. I also felt it had the perfect ending, which is also extremely difficult to get right. I closed this book with a smile on my face, which was exactly what I needed. It’s a very fun but insightful novel.

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

