Journey of a Non-Runner: Week 3 (in half the time 😉)

I am proud to say that I’ve completed Week 3 of the C25k training plan in less than a week. I decided that I wanted to expedite this process a bit, especially since I have done this before. So I finished Week 2 on Thursday and began Week 3 on Saturday. 

This requires me to get up early to go to the gym on a weekend before heading to Louisville for my best friend’s Bachelorette Party. Now that takes motivation. Lucky for me, I got to take my boyfriend with me so we could suffer together. The couple who sweats together, stays together? I’m still using the incline on the treadmill but I’m moving it up slowly, we’ve hit 2.5.

I intended to run on Sunday but instead I “adulted” and bought a vacuum and cleaned my bathroom. And ate ice cream-oops. But on Monday I had a run date with my great running partner, Shelly. And I finally broke out of the gym! We found a great nearby park to run at which is so much better than suffering on the treadmill.

After I had completed the workout Shelly said she could go for Round 2. Which sounded like a horrible idea to me. She suggested we run one interval: 90 seconds run, 90 seconds walk, 3 minute run. I said ok. I should have known better. She then suggested that we just finish it out and repeat the workout. And we did it. I was mentally cursing her the whole time but just like she said, I was glad we did it. Pushing myself once in awhile helps me remember that I can do this.

As I type this, I’m about to head out back to the park to start Week 4. I think I’ll keep it to one workout this time though, I’m a little sore. My Color Run packet also came this week which had me hyped up to continue training to reach my goal of running a 5k.

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

