Journey of a Non-Runner: Week 5ish, The Beerfit Brew Mile and Going Rogue.

It’s been a minute since I last posted about my running journey. Apologies. I haven’t been blogging as much as I should be. I’m trying to get back into my routine. When I last left you with a running list, I wasn’t doing so hot. I was losing motivation and I wanted to quit. Well I’ve been spotty on my running and took a bit of a break.

I went to Atlanta last week which took out some running time, and I didn’t have a ton of motivation upon my return. This week was also different because I had my first running event, the Beerfit Brew Mile in Louisville. I had signed up with my friend Jackie who has run half-marathons before. Talk about intimidating. So I decided to go off track on the C25k training and to do it my way. My way was to warm up and run a mile then walk for at least a mile. 

It was a cut back from what I had been doing but it was much more challenging. And I learned that taking an extended vacation from running with pull you back down quite a bit. 

The morning if the Beerfit Brew Mile, I ran a mile at the gym. I then ate a glorious Belgian waffle and hash browns, yes I know, not great running food. The run took place at Papa Johns Cardinal Stadium parking lot. It was blazing hot. The 5k was running when we arrived, so we hung out for a bit. We were given beer tickets so we each had a Blue Moon. 

When it was time to run, I was pumped. I was ready to prove that I could do this. Well I wasn’t 100% clear on the structure of the run. After we started, about 20 feet in was a table filled with Coors Light, we had to stop and drink it. We did and began running again. In about 500 feet I stopped and said I needed to walk. Not because of my lack of running prowess but because I was afraid I’d throw up the beer. We ran the last leg, and were given a beer before we finished.

I was bummed that I didn’t actually run my first race m, it was only a mile! But the thud of hops in my stomach were a warning that I couldn’t ignore. I thought that race would be a good start at only a mile but I dismissed the beer portion. My next race is the Color Run in Cincinnati. Though it’s a full 5k, I feel good that it will be in the morning, not in a parking lot, and no beer involved. 

As for my workouts, I’m still going rogue. I ran a mile, walked 4 mins then ran half a mile yesterday. Today I going to run 2 miles with the 3 minute break in between. I plan to get back on the C25k track but after I feel like I’m back up to speed. 

Though I’ve had some setbacks, I feel more determined than I had before. I’m not going to let it get the best of me. I will be running those 3.1 miles on August 6, and I’m going to work really hard to do it.

Leave a Reply

